A Comeback……and a Muffin

Hello Everyone!

I know it has been a long time since I have last posted.  Life has been busy with kids and school and well….life. I hope to start sharing again regularly!

In light of my sharing new recipes, I have come across a yummy donut muffin I’d like to share with you!

20150325_114525

I was browsing Pinterest and came upon this great recipe from Crunchy Creamy Sweet.  They have a fun website with lots of great recipes.

This recipe came together  super fast!  I had all the ingredients in my pantry and I like that it takes cocoa powder and not Bakers Chocolate.  I never have that on hand and I always have cocoa.  Now the trade off is that sometimes cocoa in a baked good causes dryness in your finished product.   The other tip I will give you is take them out of the oven right at the 15 minute mark.  I removed them at 15 minutes and got a nice light, moist product.  I fear even a little longer would have made them very dry.

The texture of these is light and cakey just like a baked cake donut.  The glaze seems loose when you make it but I dipped these then spooned more over top and ended up with very little on the tray.  I glazed them on a cooling rack over a sheet tray.  My husband says they look like rejects from Valentine’s Day with the sprinkles I used but I think they look cute!  So how do you make these little gems?  Here’s the recipe!

Chocolate Glazed Chocolate Donut Muffin

1/2 c vegetable or canola oil

1/2 c granulated sugar

1/3 c packed light brown sugar

2 large eggs

2 c all-purpose flour

2/3 c unsweetened cocoa powder

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

3/4 tsp salt

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 c milk

for the glaze:

1/4 c unsalted butter

1/4 c milk

3 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

1 Tbsp corn syrup

2 c powdered sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Grease Muffin tin.  Set aside.  Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.  In a medium bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients.  Set aside. In a large mixing bowl, mix together the oil and sugars.  Mix for 2 minutes on medium speed.  Add eggs, one at a time and mix well. Add vanilla and mix again.  Add dry ingredients and combine.  Pour into muffin pan, filling each cavity 3/4 full.  Bake 15 to 18 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean.  Cool in pan for 3 minutes, then transfer to a rack to cool completely before glazing.  For the glaze: In a medium saucepan, cook butter, milk, cocoa and corn syrup until it starts to boil.  Remove from heat and sift in powdered sugar.  Whisk until smooth.  Add vanilla and whisk again.  Dip each muffin top into th laze.  Set on a wire rack over baking sheet to catch drips.  Let sit for a few minutes and add sprinkles.  This batter made 14 muffins.
One thought on “A Comeback……and a Muffin

Leave a Reply

