14 Things in 2014

Well, we have officially rang in 2014!  Actually I did it from the inside of my eyelids, since I was in bed at midnight!  We did go to our friends house for dinner, but were home by 10:30…..party animals we are not.

Since it is 2014, I have come up with a list of things I plan on doing in 2014.  Here it is!

1) Spend as much time as possible with my family.  Most of you know I adore my husband and kids.  Having taken time off for maternity leave, I have seen what it is like to be a stay-at-home mom and I love it.

2) Blog more. 2013 was a year of figuring out the new normal for us.  And then we went and had another baby!!  Needless to say, blogging got pushed to the back burner.  This year the goal is to bring it back to the forefront.

3)  Work less.  Don’t anyone panic, I am still going to teach my normal cooking classes, just not as many of them.  I have enjoyed every minute of them, but with three kids, being out of the house 3 nights a week gets to be overwhelming.

4) Continue to de-clutter.  Last summer we rented a Dumpster.  Yes, a Dumpster.  And for those of you out there thinking you don’t have anywhere near enough stuff to fill a Dumpster, you are probably wrong.  My basement was cleaned out in a week, and my house is far less cluttered than it was.

5)  Attempt to journal.  I am horrible at journaling.  I see these folks who have these beautiful journals, or have written in one since they were 5.  I can’t ever keep up with it.  I would just like to attempt tracking a little of what we did each day and anything important.

6)  Getting in shape.  Before I had Navita, I was at the lightest weight I had been at since high school.  Then she came along…..65 pounds later, I am back to watching what I eat, and starting a workout plan again.

7) Show appreciation more .  I always have the best of intentions, but sometimes don’t follow through.

8) Cook more!  I have been cooking more, not that I am working less.  How weird is that?  I want to try new recipes more, and find out what I enjoy.

9) Travel more.  So far we are headed to Detroit, Pawley’s Island, and Washington DC at some point this year.  Joe and I are looking forward to going to DC.  We will be there over July 4th for my cousins wedding and are excited to take the kids!

10)  Quilt.  Yes, quilt.  I have started hand-piecing quilts just recently and I love doing it.  I enjoy the time that goes into hand crafts.  I feel it is a dying art.  I have 2 Dr Suess quilts coming along for the boys, and I need to come up with something for baby girl.

11) Save more money.  I have started the 52 Week Savings Plan, and we will see how far it goes.  Without working as much, I don’t have as much extra money, so getting more into savings will help with that.

12) Learn the patience to bake bread.  All of you know I have problems with real yeast breads.  Major problems.  One of them is patience.  We shall see how this goes…my husband does yeast breads so well, I feel like no matter what I do can’t compare.

13) Try some things I normally would shy away from.  This past year I joined a book club at church.  Not something I would normally have done.  But I will admit, I have enjoyed every minute of it.  We are a wide range of ages and backgrounds, and these 20 people have taught me so much.

14) Be me.  Sometimes being yourself is hard.  But as I get older, I have realized I’m not so bad.

Well, I guess a few of these you will be able to see if I follow through with!  I hope you all had a wonderful holiday season.  Here is to a great 2014!

One thought on “14 Things in 2014

  1. It’s good to have you back! Missed you. It’s hard to believe the baby is almost three months old all ready. Time flies when you are too busy to really notice. Hope your New Year is every thing you want it to be and then some!!
    Crystal Oeffner

Leave a Reply

