The Recipe……Green Tomato Red Raspberry Jam

Mock raspberry jam (aka green tomato jelly) recipe - Style At Home

 

So, here it is….the recipe everyone asks for!  I got this recipe years ago from a woman in my class.  I was at the Community Center and this lovely woman walked up and said, “You have to try this.”

Well, for those of you who know me, I hate that!  I like knowing what I am eating BEFORE I eat it!  For being a chef, I am a very picky eater.  I made a mistake of trying something once and regretted it for days afterward.  That memory has stuck with me for a very long time.  The moment she walked up to me, I had that flash back and shuddered!

So, the food she had.  It looked safe enough.  It was a jam, ruby red in color and had seeds in it.  Taking a look at it, the seeds were like bigger strawberry seeds…..or the more I looked, TOMATO seeds.  Now I was interested.

She had crackers with it, so throwing caution to the wind, I tried it.  It was FABULOUS!  It was sweet and tart and had an amazing red raspberry burst of flavor.  I loved it!  I could see the potential….over fish, over cream cheese……so many choices…..

Of course I asked for the recipe, and bless her heart, she rattled it off without hesitation.  I scribbled it down as fast as I could.  That night found me outside at dusk, pulling off all the green tomatoes I could find on our vines.  Over the course of the next week, I made tons of batches of this jam, even going to the local farm market for green tomatoes.  My freezer was stocked, and I gave it as gifts.  Everyone who tried it loved it! Give it a try and see what you think!

Green Tomato Red Raspberry Jam

2 cups sugar

2 cups green tomatoes

1 package (3oz) red raspberry or black raspberry gelatin powder

Mix sugar and tomatoes together in a food processor and liquefy.  Pour into a pot and bring to a boil for 2 minutes.  Add gelatin and boil again for 2 more minutes.  Put in sterilized jars and freeze, can in hot water bath or  top with 1/8-inch paraffin wax seal.

**I have made this recipe doubled or tripled and had great results!

Leave a Reply

