KitchenAid Mixers

This is the new KitchenAid UltraPower Plus Stand mixer.  It has 10 speeds and a 300 watt motor.  It has a 4 1/2 quart stainless steel bowl with a tilt up feature.  It comes with a one-piece pouring shield, dough hook, whip, and flat beater blades.  It is all dishwasher safe and comes in a variety of colors including Cobalt, Silver, Empire Red, Green Apple, Onyx Black, Tangerine and White.  It retails for $299.99 on Target.com

Now, I am the girl who asked for a KitchenAid mixer for my 16th birthday.  Maybe I was destined to cook for a living.  At the time, it was a fun, new toy to try new recipes with.  I have used it for years and still have it, with no issues or complaints about it.  If you looking for a great holiday gift for your foodie loved-one, this could be it.

I will tell you my ONLY issue with it.  It’s heavy.  The shipping weight is 27 pounds.  Now, if you have NO storage space in your kitchen(like me) it goes wherever it finds room.  Mine happens to be on top of the fridge.  Yes, I just said that I put something that weighs 26-plus pounds ON TOP of my refrigerator.  Needless to say, I have been doing a lot of handmixing this holiday season, rather than run the risk of braining myself getting it down without help.

It is fabulous for large or double batch cookie dough, or bread dough.  You do have to scrape the bowl a little, to make sure the stuff at the bottom gets mixed in well, but they now have a blade with silicone bowl scraper that makes that easier and it can’t be beat for making whipped cream.  You can buy refurbished ones for a slightly lesser price.  The standard Classic KitchenAid mixer runs about $229.99 if your looking to just start out in the stand mixer market.  Mine has been with me for 16 years and still runs like a champ.

So tell me, those of you who have a KitchenAid or other stand mixer, do you like it?  How often do you use it?

Leave a Reply

