Maple Walnut White Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ok, doesn’t the title say it all???  This recipe is for my friend Jayne Cromier, who was the first one to comment on Facebook about how she loved white chocolate!

Last week, I cleaned out my cupboards.  Like REALLY cleaned them out.  I sorted everything, rearranged, and realized I had a ton of white chocolate chips and more walnuts than any one person needs.  So, off to the drawing board I went.

I searched the Internet, and saw a lot of recipes that included maple flavoring in with the white chocolate and walnuts and I love maple, so I figured it was a go.  I used my regular, favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe for the base and it went great!

This recipe uses more brown sugar than white, which I think is why I like it.  I like the flavor of brown sugar, and I feel it gives a richness to baked goods.  Once you add the walnuts and maple, it pops with flavor!

There are a few things about this recipe.  It starts with melted butter creamed with the sugars instead of just softened, which also makes them spread a little bit more.  You’ll see in the pictures that I place less on the trays when they bake just in case. It also uses one whole egg and one egg yolk.  It gives these cookies a great texture.  Give them a shot!

Maple Walnut White Chocolate Chip Cookies

12 TBSP butter, melted

2/3 cup brown sugar

1/3 cup white sugar

1 whole egg plus 1 egg yolk

1 tsp maple extract

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

2 cups plus 2 TBSP flour

3/4 cup white chocolate chips

3/4 cup walnut pieces(I had halves and I just ran a knife through them)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  In a large bowl, blend together the butter and sugars.  Add eggs and combine.  Add extract and combine.  In a small bowl, combine flour, baking soda, and salt.  Add to butter mixture and combine well.  Stir in white chips and walnuts pieces.  Place rounded tablespoonfuls on cookie sheet(I lined mine with parchment paper, but it doesn’t need to be greased).  I put 8-9 per sheet in case of spreading.  Bake 13-16 minutes until lightly golden.  Remove to wire rack to cool.  Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Maple Walnut White Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Can’t wait to try this!! I agree about the brown sugar adding to the flavor. Try dark brown sugar sometime. What a difference it makes–it will add even more flavor to whatever you’re making.
    :^)

    • Oh, I know! I love dark brown sugar, but I find when I bake with it, I sometimes have problems with my cookies spreading a little to much! But I love it on oatmeal, in struesel topping for muffins or coffeecake….oh the options are endless!

Leave a Reply

