On the Sauce: Apricot BBQ Sauce

I posted this picture on Facebook earlier this week, and asked people to guess what I was making.  Now I will share with you the GREAT recipe!

I was at the Cornerstone Market in Stow (at the corner of 91 and North Moreland Rd.) and saw they had fresh apricots.  I have been wanting to try making something, ANYTHING with apricots.  So on the Pinterest I went and found a great recipe from the website Family, Food and More (www.familyfoodandmore.blogspot.com).

The recipe on their website was made in the crockpot, but I already had Blueberry Butter in the crockpot, so on to the stove-top it went.  As I let it simmer, and the smell was AMAZING.  Let me say that again…..AMAZING!!  The apricots literally melt down, and the tomatoes blend in to make a wonderful, sweet, slightly spicy sauce.  The recipe is simple, and I canned the first batch I made.  I have a feeling there will be a few more batches coming VERY soon!

Apricot BBQ Sauce

2 pounds apricots, pitted and halved

1 14.5oz. can fire roasted tomatoes, do not drain

  1 sm. can tomato paste
  3 cups brown sugar
  1 ½   cup cider vinegar
  1 onion, chopped finely
  1 jalapeno, diced small, seeds removed based on heat pref.
  3 cloves garlic, minced
  1-2 Tbl. Kosher salt
  ½ tsp. ground black pepper
  Pinch of red pepper flakes
  2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
Place all ingredients in a stock pot.  Let simmer over medium heat for 45 minutes to 1 hour, until apricots have dissolved, and sauce has thickened.  Let cool slightly, and process in a food processor until smooth.  Refrigerate for up to 1 week or process and can.  Great on grilled chicken, fish or pork.  My hubby likes dipping pretzels in it, and it would be good over cream cheese with crackers.

 

Leave a Reply

