30 Days of Grilling Day #20:Grilled Brussel Sprouts

Grilled Brussels Sprouts

Grilled Brussel Sprouts

First, you blanch the sprouts in boiling salted water, and then you coat them in a mixture of olive oil, celery salt, onion and garlic powder, salt and pepper before charring them lightly on the grill. Another toss in the seasoned oil, and they’re ready to eat. Grilling the brussels sprouts gives them a nice smokiness, and it really wakes up the flavors in the onion and garlic powders. Of the optional ingredients, we chose to add only the lemon zest and really liked the extra bit of perfume. It is suggested that you blanch the sprouts for no more than 5 minutes — if you like your sprouts a bit firm, as we do, you can get away with a minute or two less. If you don’t have an outdoor grill (or if you’re making these in the dead of winter), a grill pan will work just fine.

I got this recipe from anotherfood blog, and at the moment I found it, I was panicing about my brussels sprouts in my garden! It was like I was meant to post this article!  I am keeping my fingers crossed that I will get to grill some great tasty sprouts later this summer!

**On a different note, late week I was at West Side Market with a friend of mine, and there were Brussels Sprouts the size of baseballs!  I am dying to know where they came from!  They were beautiful!

Leave a Reply

