2-Ingredient Biscuits–YUM!

View Image

A few weeks ago, my mom sent home an insert from the paper that had cooking tips and recipes in it. It was called Relish(www.relish.com). Flipping through it, I noticed some great recipes for breakfast but one caught my eye. It was an article about biscuits by Tracy Algood. She has recently written a book called The Complete Southern Cookbook.

She talked about how she didn’t feel qualified to make biscuits and I agreed. I have always felt like biscuits were like pie crust, some people made them perfectly every time, and others just didn’t bother for fear of bad results.

Now, that being said, I got a phone call from my mom last week, right around dinner time. She was raving about the biscuits she had made for dinner. Come to find out, they were the same as the recipe I saw. She said they were easy to make, had good flavor, and looked nice. I had to try.

After going to see Imagination Movers last night with Keegan, Joe and I stopped at the store and he got fried chicken for dinner. What goes better with fried chicken than biscuits???

Joe whipped them up and they were in the oven before I knew he had started! Ten minutes later we had a nice fluffy biscuits with a great flavor. Topped with honey they made the perfect side dish!

This might be the shortest recipe I have ever given you! You can find self-rising flour with the regular flours in your baking aisle at the grocery store. Try them, but watch out, it’s hard to eat just one!

2-Ingredient Biscuits

2 cups self-rising flour

1 cup heavy (whipping) cream

Preheat oven to 450F. Combine flour and cream in a mixing bowl, stirring just until blended. (The dough will be a little stiff.) Transfer dough to a lightly floured surface and knead 10 times. Roll to ½-inch thickness and cut with a 2-inch cutter. Place biscuits close together on a lightly greased baking sheet. Bake 10 minutes.

2 thoughts on “2-Ingredient Biscuits–YUM!

Leave a Reply

