Chicken Bruschetta Sandwiches

Yesterday I had the biggest craving for bruschetta!  I thought about it all day.  It probably doesn’t help that I am dieting and working out, so all I could focus on was food. (Don’t ask about the pizza last week!) 

Thinking it through, I came up with an idea.  I would buy plum tomatoes and cook a few chicken breasts in the oven.  French bread rounded out my grocery bag.  Once I got home, I simply baked the chicken ahead of time, and let it cool.  Later when my husband an I got home, I got creative!

I chopped the tomatoes, leaving them a little bigger than a dice.  I also did not seed them, I wanted the juice to soften and season the bread.   I heated olive oil in a skillet over medium-high heat, and added a teaspoon or so of minced garlic.  After that I added the tomatoes and some dried oregano to taste.  I let them saute over medium-high heat for 2 minutes, then added the chicken, which I had large diced.  The kitchen was starting to smell yummy!

I cut the French bread loaf into thirds and cut each third in half lengthwise.  I did remove some of the bread inside to give me little hollow spaces to fill with my chicken mixture.  Once the mixture had cooked for about 5-8 minutes, I spooned it into my bread shells.  I had already placed these on a baking sheet lined with foil. 

I had foound fresh basil in the refrigerator, and topped the chicken mixture with a few fresh torn leaves.  Then using a Italian blend cheese mix, I generously sprinkled the top with cheese.  Under the broiler for 2-3 minutes and the tops were nice and browned.  Paired with a salad, this was the perfect dinner to quash my cravings!  I hope you enjoy it too!

4 thoughts on “Chicken Bruschetta Sandwiches

  1. hey its me scarlette and lauri from the ice cream class you gave at the north canton library. omg it looks so good. i was the blonde who wanted to eat the whole bucket of peanut and chocolate ice cream

    • I would have let you! I am so glad you enjoyed it! The classes are so fun and that one is one of my favorites! I am looking to post some of those add ins on here in August!

Leave a Reply

