Waffles

After purchasing waffles at the grocery store for Keegan, I decided maybe there was a better way.  I know, a chef who buys waffles for her kids, what has the world come to?  Well, everyone needs quick foods now and then!  I knew my parents had a waffle iron, so after a week of attempting to pick it up, my mom finally dropped it off to my husband at his work.  They have a Waring Pro Waffle Iron and it is awesome!  It is simple to use, cooks evenly, and is a snap to clean.  I’ll warn you though, make sure you have room for it, it is a bit bulky and takes up space in your kitchen. 

The recipe was simple, using only ingredients I had on hand, nothing like buttermilk or yeast.  I am thinking you could use buttermilk in place of the milk, but I haven’t tried it yet.  I added a little vanilla and some cinnamon to the batter, and they were ready to cook.  The waffle iron has a 180-degree turning feature, meaning when you put the batter in and close the top down, you have the ability to turn it upside down.  This really helps with even waffles, without holes, where the batter didn’t fill in enough.  It is non-stick coated, but I still sprayed it with a little pan spray to help loosen the waffles after cooking.  All I had was baking spray(the kind with the flour mixed in) and it worked fine.  I sprayed the waffle iron for the first waffle and didn’t need it after that.  The only thing I found was the first waffle was not as crispy as the rest, and I believe that was due to the added pan spray, but after that they were all nicely browned, crispy on the outside and soft and flavorful on the inside. 

My waffle iron makes a big waffle with 4 quarters.  I broke them in half, and wrapped them in waxed paper.  Tucked inside a freezer bag, they will be perfect for breakfast this week with fruit!  This recipe makes about 4 pancakes in my waffle iron, so I doubled it.  In a smaller iron you might get s few more.

Waffles

2 cups all purpose flour

2 tsp baking powder

2 TBSP white sugar

1 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

2 cups milk

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

2 TBSP melted butter (or vegetable oil will work too!)

In a large bowl, combine all dry ingredients and whisk to combine.  Add wet ingredients, whisking well to combine and break up any lumps.  Use with waffle iron as directed on manufacturers instructions.  Makes 4 large waffles.

Leave a Reply

