Pistachio Goat Cheese Bites

I needed something to take to a meeting I attended today and this recipe jumped out at me!  I loved how they look, they taste even better, and they are a fancy bite that is easy to make! 

At the grocery store last night, they had these beautiful little green grapes.  They were sweet but tart, and I knew I wanted to use them in something. I love using goat cheese in recipes, and thought this might be good with the grapes.  I like the Capricorn Brand crumbled goat cheese for recipes that are blended with other ingredients.  Here is the label!

Once I had these ingredients put together, I needed a binder. Cream cheese came to the rescue(how can you go wrong with cream cheese?).  I combined the goat cheese, cream cheese, chopped pistachios, and chopped dried cranberries together and stirred to combine.  I chopped the nuts and cranberries in my food processor, and then toasted the nuts for about 3 minutes in a dry skillet over medium heat, just until they were fragrant.

Once this was combined, I began coating the grapes in the cream cheese mixture.  I will admit this was not an easy task, but as long as the mixture is still slightly cold, it works well.  Once they were covered, I rolled them in the remaining pistachios and cranberries, which I had blended together in a bowl.

I used store-bought phyllo shells to place them in, and refrigerated them until I needed them to make sure the cheese was firm and the grapes were chilled well.  When ready to serve, I drizzled them with honey for a nice finish. 

These can be made up to one day ahead, and chilled.  I recommend drizzling them with honey right before serving.

Pistachio Goat Cheese Bites

36 grapes

36 phyllo cups

3/4 cup pistachios, toasted and chopped

1/2 cup dried cranberries. chopped

4 ounces crumbled goat cheese

6 ounces cream cheese

2 TBSP honey

In a medium bowl, combine 1/4 cup pistachios, 1/4 cup cranberries, goat cheese and cream cheese.  Using spoon or electric mixer, stir to combine well.  Coat grapes with cream cheese mixture. In a small bowl, combine remaining pistachios and cranberries, stir to combine well.  Roll coated grapes in nut mixture, pressing to coat heavily.  Place into phyllo cups and chill at least 1 hour.  Before serving drizzle with honey.  Makes 36 bites.

Leave a Reply

