National Egg Month- January

Eggs, the perfect food.  Eggs make amazing meals by themselves, or when added to other ingredients.  They can be used in sweet and savory foods, baked goods, beverages.  How can you go wrong with eggs? 

When I was in culinary school, we covered eggs over the coarse of a few days.  I had never had Baked Eggs before and was assigned the recipe for them in class.  I never thought I would enjoy them, but they have become on of my favorite egg dishes.  It is one of the meals I have eaten in my life that has stuck with me every since I made it.  The eggs are firm, but flavorful, perfectly cooked, and slightly salty.  I remember coming home from class and telling my parents how amazing they were.  Try them for yourself and see what you think!

Baked Eggs

1 TBSP butter

Pinch of salt

Pinch of pepper

1 egg

1 teaspoon to 1 tablespoon heavy cream

1/2 teaspoon melted butter(optional)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly butter a 4-ounce ramekin and sprinkle it with salt and pepper.  Crack the egg into it.  Drizzle the heavy cream and butter over the top.  If you do not use cream or butter, cover the top of the ramekin with foil.  Place ramekin in a baking dish, and fill halfway up the side with water.  Bake until the egg white is firm and the yolk is thickened, about 15 minutes.  Serve directly from the ramekin with buttered toast.  Makes 1 serving.*To bake 2 eggs, use a 6-ounce ramekin, double all other ingredients and bake about 18 minutes.

Leave a Reply

